14 comments on “Botch Your (Mountain) Lion Install? This Might Help…

  1. I second that “Thanks a million, Brett.” This is the only article that provided a workable solution. My system is now restoring to Snow Leopard.

    Bryan

  2. Wow you’re the man. I was getting this error trying to install the OS on a new hard drive for my CEO. This find saved the day for me. Thanks a million!!!

    • Thanks, Bill- glad it worked out for you. I’ve been trying to post any time I have to search for more than a few minutes on a problem, and it seems to be helping folks. Can’t ask for much more than that!

  3. Worked perfectly for me. Been struggeling a while thinking it was a problem with the image file or the USB. I even bruend the image to a DVD but with the same error. Thanks a lot!

  4. This worked perfectly. Thank you so much. I have been fighting, thinking it was memory or the hard drive was about to crash. Reset PRAM and installed perfectly.

  5. Wow. Brett and Brandt. You really made my day, I think. Here I was after a HDD crash, having given my Mac to the good guys at Apple service, who made an image of my corrupt HDD and installed it on a new HDD resulting in all possible performance problems and freezing. Having readied myself for a USB install, I kept getting this error and after reinstalling and re-downloading the installer 3 times, I was nearly going to make myself hairless. Until Google gave me your link! It was indeed because of bad PRAM. So, even though I had formatted my HDD, the old PRAM settings continued to give me this error! You saved me a lot of time and resources. Thanks to you and Brett.

    • Cool, glad it helped! I know it was a lifesaver when I found this info, and I’ve even had to refer back to this article myself when it happened again on another machine some time later.

  6. I do not even understand how I finished up right here, but I
    believed this post was once great. I do not recognize who
    you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger should you aren’t already. Cheers!

  7. Thanks for any other great post. The place else may anybody get
    that kind of information in such an ideal means of writing?
    I have a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the look for such info.

  8. Another person helped by this informative post. But…. there was a catch since the Imac I was working on did not have a keyboard and mouse. I only had a windows keyboard and mouse but I needed to reset the PRAM, luckily I found this article: http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=4369588&postcount=2

    Quoted from that post: “No need to purchase an apple keyboard. On a generic USB keyboard the Alt key works as Option, and the Windows key works as Command.”

    Thanks a lot!!!

Comments are closed.